HGB Leipzig / Class For Perform­ative Arts

TECHNE SPHERE X BALL THEATER X CLASS FOR PERFORMATIVE ARTS

WEEKEND 1: Elsa Blanc-Brude, Maria Isabel Pineda

Elsa Blanc-Brude

Contemplation
listening session

05.07.2024
Ball Theater / Techne Sphere Leipzig


Elsa Blanc-Brude performs her experimental music set live. Visitors are invited to come, go, rest, move and change position around the immediate surroundings of the ball theater throughout the duration of the live composition. In Contemplation she develops a sonic and poetic landscape that critically reflects on the access to information streams, inviting the audience to drift between ‘reel’ world and digital social interfaces.


Artist bio

Elsa is a French artist based at Leipzig, she studies media arts at HGB in Leipzig and at ISBA Besançon in France. She focuses her research on the listening experiences and the impact of technology on the faculty of hearing. This fascination is guided by feminist questions, the interest in transformation and interplay with virtual and real worlds. She explores the interactions between spaces, sounds and human bodies through sound compositions and installations.


María Isabel Pineda Yupanqui

Nicht geographische Spuren - my home in 2024
listening experience (30 min)

05.07.2024 | 8pm and 8:30 pm
inside of the factory (meeting point Ball Theater)

 

Nicht geographische Spuren - my home in 2024 is a performative sound installation in which the artist invites the audience to lie down and sit on cushioned platforms around her as she mixes spatialized sounds that sonically reconstruct her notion of home. The collected sounds correspond to the caring gestures of daily routines, starting from waking up and breakfast rituals to cooking together in the evening. There is the sound of learning to cook a recipe from her mother and the teaching of this recipe to a friend. In this way the artist will be sharing her current version of home.


Artist bio

María Isabel Pineda Yupanqui is a Peruvian architect/artist currently based in Leipzig whose work draws attention to the socio-cultural interfaces between the different communities present in her life. She seeks to identify situations in which she herself struggles (mainly associated with themes such as discomfort, strangeness and mistake) and then locates them in collective processes. To present these themes, the artist works with spacial storytelling experiences in which both exchange and discussion are always wished and welcomed.


Weekend 2: Kuan-Hsuan Lee, Juli Winterstein

 

Kuan-Hsuan Lee

Untitled
Performance

27.07.2024 | 8:30 pm and 10:30 pm
Ball Theater / Techne Sphere Leipzig


K.H. responds to the surreal atmosphere of the Ball Theater at Techne Sphere to create a fantasy world in which time, emotions, happenings seem to be frozen and melted, fragmented and constructed. This fragmented scenes try-out evening is greeted with a precarious character holding a meticulously crafted to-do list of tasks, which opens and unfolds through a series of fragmented happenings, choreographed actions, blending movement, text, and sound, all happening within the framework of what they call a “wet and ambiguous environment”.


Artist bio

K.H. is a performance artist with experience in the field of experimental Theatre, who is currently studying media art in the class for performative arts by Isabel Lewis at HGB Leipzig. K.H. wanders through the borders of movements, texts, performances, and multiple media. In K.H.´s practices, character-explorations and body-based experiments have been entry points into fractions of different universes with unique rules, times and story-telling.

 


Juli Winterstein

with music by Bastian Schwenteck

versus II
Installation

28.07.2024 | 8:30 pm - 11 pm
Ball Theater / Techne Sphere Leipzig


The installation versus II forms the second part of a research on corporeality, a language of signs, and externalization in the field of sculpture and uses the Ball Theatre as an exhibition space. The practice of exhibition-making is approached through a performative and theatrical lens. Inside the theater as a testing ground, the creation and showing of sculptural work, as well as the charging of objects with actual and metaphorical mobility become a vehicle within the dramaturgical process of conditioning for the eye.


Artist bio

Juli Winterstein is studying in the class for performative arts by Isabel Lewis at the Academy of Fine Arts Leipzig and works object based. They have a background in theater in the fields of stage design and stage performance and work as a model builder besides their studies.


Photo: Lars Ole Bastar

"With the kind support of the Friends of the HGB Leipzig"

HGB Leipzig / Klasse für perform­ative Künste

TECHNE SPHERE X BALL THEATER X CLASS FOR PERFORMATIVE ARTS

WEEKEND 1: Elsa Blanc-Brude, Maria Isabel Pineda

Elsa Blanc-Brude

Contemplation
listening session

05.07.2024
Ball Theater / Techne Sphere Leipzig


Elsa Blanc-Brude führt ein experimentelles Musikstück live auf. Die Besucher sind eingeladen, während der gesamten Dauer der Live-Komposition zu kommen, zu gehen, sich auszuruhen, sich zu bewegen und ihre Position in der unmittelbaren Umgebung des Ball Theaters zu verändern. Kontemplativ entwickelt sie eine klangliche und poetische Landschaft, die den Zugang zu Informationsströmen kritisch reflektiert und das Publikum dazu einlädt, sich zwischen der "realen" Welt und digitalen sozialen Schnittstellen zu bewegen.


Artist bio

Elsa ist eine französische Künstlerin und lebt in Leipzig. Sie studiert Medienkunst an der HGB in Leipzig und an der ISBA Besançon in Frankreich. Sie konzentriert ihre Forschung auf Hörerfahrungen und deren technologische Auswirkungen. Diese Faszination wird von feministischen Fragen, dem Interesse an deren Transformation und dem Zusammenspiel mit virtuellen und realen Welten geleitet. Sie erforscht die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Räumen, Klängen und menschlichen Körpern durch Klangkompositionen und Installationen.


María Isabel Pineda Yupanqui

Nicht geographische Spuren - my home in 2024
Hörerlebnis (30 Min)

05.07.2024 | 20:00 und 20:30 Uhr
in der Fabrik (Treffpunkt Ball Theater)

 

Nicht geographische Spuren - my home in 2024 ist eine performative Soundinstallation, in der die Künstlerin das Publikum einlädt, sich auf gepolsterte Plattformen um sie herum zu legen und zu setzen, während sie räumliche Sounds mischt, die ihre Vorstellung von Zuhause sonisch rekonstruieren. Die gesammelten Sounds entsprechen den liebevollen Gesten der täglichen Routine, angefangen vom Aufwachen über Frühstücksrituale bis hin zum gemeinsamen Kochen am Abend. Da ist der Sound des Kochrezepts, das sie von ihrer Mutter gelernt hat, und der Sound des Rezepts, das sie einer Freundin beibringt. Auf diese Weise teilt die Künstlerin ihre aktuelle Version von Zuhause.


Artist bio

María Isabel Pineda Yupanqui ist eine Peruanische Architektin/Künstlerin, die derzeit in Leipzig lebt und deren Arbeit die Aufmerksamkeit auf die soziokulturellen Schnittstellen zwischen den verschiedenen Gemeinschaften lenkt, die in ihrem Leben präsent sind. Sie versucht, Situationen zu identifizieren, mit denen sie selbst zu kämpfen hat (hauptsächlich im Zusammenhang mit Themen wie Unbehagen, Fremdheit und Fehler), und verortet diese dann in kollektiven Prozessen. Um diese Themen darzustellen, arbeitet die Künstlerin mit räumlichen Storytelling Erfahrungen, bei denen Austausch und Diskussion stets erwünscht und willkommen sind.


Weekend 2: Kuan-Hsuan Lee, Juli Winterstein

Kuan-Hsuan Lee

Untitled
Performance

27.07.2024 | 20:30 - 22:30 Uhr
Ball Theater / Techne Sphere Leipzig


K.H. reagiert auf die surreale Atmosphäre des Ball Theaters auf dem Gelände der Technesphere, indem performativ eine Fantasiewelt geschaffen wird, in welcher Zeit, Emotionen und Ereignisse eingefroren und zersetzt, fragmentiert und neu konstruiert werden. Der Abend zeigt einen szenischen Versuch, welcher von einem undefinierten Charakter mit der Präsentation einer To-Do Liste von Aufgaben begonnen wird, welche sich dann in einer Reihe von fragmentierten Ereignissen, choreographierten Aktionen, verschmelzenden Bewegungen, Text und Sound entfalten. Für K.H. geschehen die Ereignisse in einem System, welches K.H. als “wet and ambiguous environment” bezeichnet.


Artist bio

K.H. arbeitet mit Performance und hat einen Hintergrund in experimentellem Theater. Zurzeit studiert K.H. Medienkunst an der HGB in der Klasse für performative Künste von Isabel Lewis. K.H. arbeitet mit den Grenzen zwischen Bewegung, Text, Performance und verschiedenen anderen Medien. In K.H.´s künstlerischer Praxis sind die Erkundung von fiktiven Charakteren, sowie körperliche Experimente Ausgangspunkte für die Entwicklung von Fragmenten verschiedener Universen mit eigenen Regelwerken, Zeitlichkeiten und Narrativen.


Juli Winterstein

versus II
Installation

28.07.2024 | 20.30 - 23.00 Uhr
Ball Theater / Techne Sphere Leipzig


Die Installation versus II bildet den zweiten Teil einer Recherche zu Körperlichkeit, Zeichensystemen und Veräußerlichung im Bereich Skulptur und nutzt das Ball Theater als Ausstellungsraum. Die Praxis des Ausstellens wird aus einem performativen Winkel betrachtet, und das Herstellen, Zeigen und Bewegbarmachen von Skulpturen als dramaturgischer Prozess der Konditionierung für den lesenden Blick, welcher sich über die Zeitachsen von Produktion, Präsentation und Rezeption erstreckt und sie wechselwirkend durchdringt. Zum Abschluss des Festivals dient die Installation als Deaktivierung des Ball Theaters.
 

Artist bio

Juli Winterstein studiert in der Klasse für performative Künste von Isabel Lewis an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig und arbeitet objektbasiert. Er hat einen Hintergrund im Theater in den Bereichen Bühnenbild und Performance und arbeitet neben dem Studium als Modellbauer.


Foto: Lars Ole Bastar

"Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch den Freundeskreis der HGB Leipzig"